Print this Page

Family Faith Formation

familyfaithformationFamily Faith Formation is an active process where families strive to live, grow, and work together in response to God’s presence, grace, and love. It is our hope that this topic will help you, your family, and the families you are in ministry with develop daily practices that help families connect to God and each other.

Here are some resources for you, your family and families in your congregation can use to “grow in holiness of heart and light”.  This is a work in progress so check back often!

Family Faith Formation – General Resources

Seasonal Resources – Advent

Seasonal Resources – Christmas

Seasonal Resources – Epiphany

Seasonal Resources – Lent

Seasonal Resources – Easter

Seasonal Resources – Pentecost

Other Special Days

Permanent link to this article: http://kidz.arumc.org/family-faith-formation/

Family Faith Formation – General Resources

Family Faith Formation Resources Best Practices in Family Faith Formation by John Roberto – PDF document BestPracticesInFamilyFaithFormation-Roberto   Journeying Together Newsletter – A monthly resource with tools for you and your families as you connect with God and each other at home, work, school, and play. A PDF sample copy of the newsletter Journeying with …

View page »

Seasonal Resources – Advent

Advent The season of Advent, which comes from the Latin word adventus meaning “coming” or “visit,” begins four Sundays before Christmas and ends on Christmas Eve. Advent is the beginning of the liturgical year for Christians. ##Denotes United Methodist resource or resource with United Methodist origins. General Resources ##2015 Advent Home Worship http://www.umcdiscipleship.org/resources/2015-advent-home-worship ##Advent Preparation …

View page »

Seasonal Resources – Christmas

Christmas Although we are accustomed to celebrating Christmas on a single day, in both Christian tradition and on the Church calendar, the Christmas season lasts sundown on December 24 (Christmas Eve) through Epiphany (January 6). ##Denotes United Methodist resource or resource with United Methodist origins. General Resources Blessing Your Christmas Tree http://www.buildfaith.org/2015/11/30/a-christmas-tree-blessing/ ##Celebrate the Season!  …

View page »

Seasonal Resources – Epiphany

Epiphany The Epiphany (Manifestation) of the Lord (January 6) is when we celebrate the coming of the three wise men (magi), who brought gifts to the Christ child.   ##Denotes United Methodist resource or resource with United Methodist origins. General Resources ##Family Observance of Epiphany http://www.umcdiscipleship.org/resources/family-observance-of-epiphany Guiding Stars: An Epiphany Activity at Home http://www.buildfaith.org/2015/12/16/guiding-stars-an-epiphany-activity-at-home/ Media …

View page »

Seasonal Resources – Lent

  LENT Lent, the period of 40 days before Easter (excluding Sundays), begins on Ash Wednesday and ends at sundown on Holy Saturday, the evening before Easter. ##Denotes United Methodist resource or resource with United Methodist origins. GENERAL RESOURCES Ash Wednesday at Home:  Fire and Ashes http://www.buildfaith.org/2016/02/03/ash-wednesday-home-fire-ashes/ ##Family Devotion for Ash Wednesday http://www.umcdiscipleship.org/resources/family-devotion-for-ash-wednesday ##Making Ash …

View page »

Seasonal Resources – Easter

EASTER The Easter Season, also known as Eastertide or the Great Fifty Days, begins on Easter Day and ends on Pentecost.   ##Denotes United Methodist resource or resource with United Methodist origins. General Resources  ##15 Outreach Ideas for Easter http://www.umcom.org/learn/15-outreach-ideas-for-easter 40+ Easter Books for Kids – Read A Book A Day http://serendipityandspice.com/40-days-childrens-easter-books-lent/#_a5y_p=1343226 A Simple Easter …

View page »

Seasonal Resources – Pentecost

Pentecost Pentecost is the day on which the Christian church commemorates the coming of the Holy Spirit upon people  assembled in Jerusalem. It is celebrated 50 days after Easter and is often referred to as the “Birthday of the Church”. ##Denotes United Methodist resource or resource with United Methodist origins. GENERAL RESOURCES Day of Pentecost …

View page »

Other Special Days

##Denotes United Methodist resource or resource with United Methodist origins. General ##Family Prayers for Special Days in the Life of a Child http://www.umcdiscipleship.org/resources/family-prayers-for-special-days-in-the-life-of-a-child Valentine’s Day St. Patrick’s Day Mother’s Day ##Christian Home Month:  Families Called to: Love – ChristianHomeMonth-Families Called to Love Peace – ChristianHomeMonth-Families Called to Peace Justice – ChristianHomeMonth – Families Called to …

View page »